COMOX VALLEY, B.C. – Get out and vote.

That’s the message the Comox Valley Regional District is sending to valley residents in advance of the municipal election on Saturday, Oct. 20.

The CVRD, in partnership with the City of Courtenay, Town of Comox and Village of Cumberland, reminds people to do their part by casting their ballots on election night.

“Every resident has their own opinions, values, and concerns regarding their community” said Jake Martens, CVRD Deputy Chief Election Officer. “No matter where you live, your vote can help shape your neighborhood and community on important issues such as traffic management, education, parks, recreation, emergency services, infrastructure projects and so many more.”

Voters in Courtenay will elect one mayor, six councillors and two school trustees, voters in the Town of Comox will vote in one mayor, six councillors and one school trustee and voters in the Village of Cumberland will select one mayor, four councillors and one school trustee.

For a full list of candidates in Comox click here.

For a full list of candidates in Courtenay, click here.

And for a full list of candidates in Cumberland, click here.

The Comox Valley Regional District is responsible for conducting the elections for three Electoral Area Directors, one in each of Electoral Area A (Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands), Electoral Area B (Lazo North), and Electoral Area C (Puntledge – Black Creek).

As well, the CVRD will also conduct voting for Denman and Hornby Island Local Trust Area trustees, two on each island, and for three School District No. 71 school trustees –  one in each of Electoral Areas A, B and C.