Listen Live

- Advertisement -
HomeNewsSD71 trustee candidates forum tonight at Vanier

SD71 trustee candidates forum tonight at Vanier

- Advertisement -

COMOX VALLEY, B.C. – Four local groups that support public education in the Valley have come together to host a special event tonight (Wednesday, Oct. 10).

Residents are invited to a School District 71 trustee candidates forum.

It takes place at GP Vanier Secondary School’s multi-purpose room from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

The event is an opportunity for voters to hear from local candidates, and ask questions about educational issues in the Comox Valley. Each candidate will be at their own table, and the public can choose who they want to talk with.

Elections for school trustee will occur in the following electoral areas: Comox, Area B, Area C. Trustee candidates in Area A, Courtenay, and Cumberland have been acclaimed, so there will be no election in those areas, according to the Comox District Teachers Association (CDTA).

- Advertisement -

The CDTA is one of the groups hosting the event, along with the
Canadian Union of Public Employees Local 439 (CUPE), the District Parent Advisory Council (DPAC), and the Comox Valley Parents for Public Education (CVPFPE).

The following is a list of candidates for each electoral area:

COURTENAY: Janice Caton and Kathleen Hawksby (acclaimed)

COMOX: Randi Baldwin, Tonia R. Frawley

CUMBERLAND: Sarah Jane Howe (acclaimed)

AREA A: Sheila McDonnell (acclaimed)

AREA B: James Derry, Michelle Waite

AREA C: Ian Hargreaves, Terence Purden

For further information, contact CDTA president at (250) 218-3383 or via email at

- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -