Listen Live
HomeNewsUPDATE 6: Live 2019 election coverage: NDP's Gord Johns re-elected as MP

UPDATE 6: Live 2019 election coverage: NDP’s Gord Johns re-elected as MP

Colour the federal Courtenay-Alberni riding orange.

Incumbent NDP Gord Johns has been re-elected as federal MP.

With 220 of 265 polls reporting, Johns is on top with 22,766 votes and 42.9 percent of local support.

The Conservatives’ Byron Horner is in second with 11,116 votes and 30.9 percent of local support.

Green candidate Sean Wood is in third with 4,925 votes for 13.7 percent of local support.

- Advertisement -

Right on his heels is Liberal Jonah Gowans with 4,470 votes and 12.3 percent of local support.

Marxist-Leninist Barbara Biley has 89 votes.

Across Canada, four of five party leaders have won their home ridings.

The only leader not to win a seat in Parliament is People’s Party leader Maxime Bernier.

Liberal leader Justin Trudeau’s liberals will lead a minority government elected or leading in 156 ridings.

The Conservatives are at 121 with leader Andrew Scheer winning his riding.

Jagmeet Singh has won his riding with the party leading or elected in 25 ridings.

Green Party leader Elizabeth May has won her seat with the party taking 3 seats.

The People’s party is not reporting.


- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -