Listen Live
HomeNewsComox Valley school district begins by-election process for one trustee

Comox Valley school district begins by-election process for one trustee

The Comox Valley School District is calling for nominations to fill the  seat vacated by former chair Ian Hargreaves.

Hargreaves resigned before the Sept.1st board meeting, saying he wasn’t seeing eye-to-eye with his fellow trustees.

“Over the last year, it has become evident that my vision and view of the direction of this board is not consistent with the majority of my fellow trustees,” he said.

READ MORE: Comox Valley School District board chair resigns 

- Advertisement -

The new trustee will fill the vacated position in Area 6 – Electoral Area C, Comox Valley Regional District.

The trustee will serve for the remainder of the four-year term ending in November 2022.

Clyde Woolman has been appointed the Chief Election Officer and Marlene Leach has been named the Deputy Chief Election Officer.

The nomination period runs from Oct. 27th to Nov. 6th.

Nomination packages will be available at the School Board Office at 607 Cumberland Road, from 8:30am to 4:30pm, Monday to Friday.

Completed nomination documents must be delivered by hand, mail or courier to the board office.

In order to qualify, you must be a

  • Canadian citizen;
  • minimum 18 years of age on general voting day Saturday, Dec. 12th;
  • resident of British Columbia for a least six months immediately before the day nomination papers are filled
  • not disqualified under the School Act or any other enactment from being nominated for, and 
  • being elected to or holding office as a trustee, or be otherwise disqualified by law.
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -